Our varieties

Champ-Virginie-semences-tabac-bergerac-seed-breeding-2Bergerac Seed & Breeding owns a catalogue of proprietary male sterile tobacco varieties which have been created through decades of breeding activities. These varieties have been developed in order to integrate pest and disease resistances, for the adaptation to specific growing conditions and for some specific leaf properties.

Please wait while flipbook is loading. For more related info, FAQs and issues please refer to DearFlip WordPress Flipbook Plugin Help documentation.

couv-cat-Seed-&and-Breeding-A4-2018PDF version of the catalogue

Most of our varieties are F1 hybrids.

Do not hesitate to contact us to help you in choosing the best varieties adapted to your growing conditions.

Free samples are available upon request.

Shisha tobacco refers to the flavoured tobacco which is smoked using a water pipe, in which tobacco smoke passes through a container of water prior to inhalation. The tobacco used for shisha is typically shredded tobacco leaf flavoured with molasses, honey or dried fruits.

This use of tobacco originates from the Middle East and certain areas of Asia, but in the 1990s, it became popular in the Eastern Mediterranean countries and its use eventually spread around the world.

The tobacco produced from Bergerac Seed & Breeding French Filler Flue-cured varieties, when grown and cured in appropriate conditions, is very popular with shisha tobacco manufacturers for several main reasons, that are essential for a good quality shisha product:

– its low level of nicotine and high content of sugars,
– its pale lemon colour,
– its high absorbing capacity of molasses,
– and the fact that it does not change its colour during the shisha processing.

Dark tobacco, its diversity, BSB varieties

France is historically a country of dark tobacco and there are plenty of vintage photos showing the brown leaves packed in bales covered with jute cloth, ready for the fermentation stage before going to the French factories to be transformed into Gauloises, Gitanes and cigarillos.

Today these factories have disappeared following the demand of the consumer slowly moving towards blond tobacco. However, Bergerac Seed & Breeding is now working more than ever to revive this type of tobacco with such a specific taste. Although French know-how has been built mainly around the production of dark filler tobacco for cigarettes, small more specific programs have been developed for different uses that give dark tobacco back all its former nobility and a real development potential for French tobacco growers:

  • Snus tobacco

This type of tobacco, which is only permitted in some northern European countries or in North America, is consumed as a wet powder. The usual method of consumption is to place the product between the gums and the upper lip and keep it in place for a period that can range from a few minutes to several hours. The powders used are made up of a blend of different types of tobacco and dark tobacco traditionally has an important place in it.

For this type of material we recommend our Kentucky type varieties: ITB 16410, ITB 446 and ITB 160.

  • Filler and wrapper dark tobacco for cigars or cigarillos

The making of a cigar is a complex exercise that requires the right taste balance of the filling tobacco blend, a just density that will bring a good combustion, and a perfect aesthetics brought by a mastered rolling technique. By their aroma, their thinness and their elasticity, the leaves used as a binder and as a wrapper, ideally of natural tobacco, will bring the cigar or cigarillo the final touch of their design.

For each element that composes a cigar or a cigarillo we have selected varieties adapted to the constraints of the French and European terroir, for crops in open field or under shade, and for dark tobaccos intended to be gently air-cured or even fire-cured. Do not hesitate to submit us your cigar or cigarillo design project, we will advise you the varieties best suited to your creations.

  • Dark tobacco for nicotine extraction

The development of nicotine consumption through electronic cigarettes or e-cigarettes has led to the development of nicotine production. This production is ensured by the extraction of the natural nicotine present in the tobacco leaves. The tobaccos most able to generate a significant amount of nicotine in a European production context are once again the dark tobaccos!

For this use, we recommend our varieties ITB 188, ITB 18802 and ITB 188AM: ask us for more information!

Semences de tabac

Nos variétés

Champ-Virginie-semences-tabac-bergerac-seed-breeding-2Bergerac Seed & Breeding possède un catalogue de variétés de tabac mâle stériles qui ont été créées au fil de décennies de recherche en sélection variétale. Ces variétés ont été développées de manière à y intégrer des résistances aux ravageurs et maladies, pour l’adaptation à des conditions de culture spécifiques et pour quelques propriétés spécifiques de la matière première produite.

Please wait while flipbook is loading. For more related info, FAQs and issues please refer to DearFlip WordPress Flipbook Plugin Help documentation.

couv-cat-Seed-&and-Breeding-A4-2018Version PDF du catalogue (en anglais) pour l’impression

Variétés cultivées en France

La plupart de nos variétés sont des hybrides F1.

N’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour une aide au choix des variétés les mieux adaptées à vos conditions de culture. Des échantillons gratuits sont disponibles sur simple demande.

Le tabac à shisha désigne le tabac aromatisé qui est fumé à l’aide d’une pipe à eau, dans lequel la fumée de tabac traverse un récipient d’eau avant d’être inhalée. Le tabac utilisé pour la shisha est typiquement du tabac haché et aromatisé avec de la mélasse, du miel ou des fruits secs.

Cet usage du tabac est originaire du Moyen-Orient et de certaines régions d’Asie, mais dans les années 1990, il est devenu populaire dans les pays de la Méditerranée Orientale puis son usage s’est finalement répandu dans le monde entier.

Le tabac produit à partir des variétés de Virginie de remplissage de Bergerac Seed & Breeding, lorsqu’elles sont cultivées et séchées dans des conditions appropriées, est très apprécié par les fabricants de tabac à shisha pour plusieurs raisons principales, qui sont essentielles pour un produit de shisha de bonne qualité :

– sa faible teneur en nicotine et sa forte teneur en sucres,
– sa couleur jaune pâle,
– sa capacité d’absorption élevée de la mélasse,
– et le fait qu’il ne change pas de couleur pendant la préparation de la shisha.

Le tabac brun, sa diversité, les variétés BSB

La France est historiquement un pays de tabac brun et les photos d’époque ne manquent pas montrant les feuilles brunes conditionnées en ballots recouverts de toile de jute, prêtes pour l’étape de fermentation avant de partir dans les usines françaises pour se transformer en Gauloises, Gitanes et cigarillos.

Aujourd’hui ces usines ont disparu suite à la demande du consommateur s’orientant doucement vers le tabac blond. Cependant, Bergerac Seed & Breeding travaille aujourd’hui plus que jamais à faire revivre cette typologie de tabac au goût si spécifique. Bien que le savoir-faire français se soit bâti principalement autour de la production de tabac brun de remplissage pour cigarette, de petits programmes plus spécifiques se sont développés pour différents usages qui redonnent au tabac brun toutes ses lettres de noblesse et un vrai potentiel de développement pour les producteurs français :

  • Le tabac pour Snus

Ce type de tabac, autorisé seulement dans certains pays du nord de l’Europe ou en Amérique du Nord, est consommé sous forme de poudre humide. La méthode de consommation habituelle consiste à placer le produit entre la gencive et la lèvre supérieure et à le garder en place pendant une durée qui peut aller de quelques minutes à plusieurs heures. Les poudres utilisées sont constituées d’un mélange de différents types de tabac et le tabac brun y a traditionnellement une place importante.

Pour ce type de matière nous recommandons nos variétés type Kentucky : ITB 16410, ITB 446 et ITB 160.

  • Le tabac brun de remplissage et de cape pour cigares ou cigarillos

La confection d’un cigare est un exercice complexe qui demande le juste équilibre de goût du mélange de remplissage, une densité juste qui apportera une bonne combustion, et un esthétisme parfait apporté par une technique de roulage maîtrisée. Par leur arôme, leur finesse et leur élasticité, les feuilles utilisées comme sous-cape et comme cape, idéalement en tabac naturel,  apporteront au cigare ou au cigarillo la touche finale de leur conception.

Pour chaque élément qui compose un cigare ou un cigarillo nous avons sélectionné des variétés adaptées aux contraintes du terroir français et européen, pour des cultures de plein champ ou sous toile, et pour des tabacs bruns destinés à être séchés doucement à l’air libre ou même boucanés. N’hésitez pas à nous confier votre projet de conception de cigare ou cigarillo, nous vous conseillerons les variétés les plus adaptées à vos créations.

  • Le tabac brun pour l’extraction de nicotine

Le développement de la consommation de nicotine par le biais de cigarettes électroniques ou e-cigarettes a permis le développement de la production de nicotine. Cette production est assurée par l’extraction de la nicotine naturelle présente dans les feuilles de tabac. Les tabacs les plus à même de générer une quantité de nicotine importante dans un contexte de production européen sont encore une fois les tabacs bruns !

Pour cette utilisation, nous recommandons nos variétés ITB 188, ITB 18802 et ITB 188AM : demandez nous plus d’informations !

Semences de tabac